Art and The Future Looks Bright

Tonight was a special event for me. I attended a local Art gallery for an opening of a new exhibit called ‘Flight’. It was special to me for several reasons.

The number one reason this evening was special for me was that I had asked my fourteen year old son if he would like to go with me. He said yes, although I could tell it was with a bit of trepidation. However after the event, when I asked him his opinion, I could tell he really enjoyed the opening. I knew he felt a little out of place as most of the crowd was in their 30s and older, but he truly was interested in the art. This is big for me since there have been limited opportunities in the past, in our town, for exposure to what I consider ‘culture’ to both young and old alike and it is important to me to expose my son to, what were at one time considered, the Liberal Arts. Thankfully that is starting to change.

And that is the second reason tonight was so special. I am beginning to see a sea change in our town. I was talking to a friend the other day and he, and some people he is associated with, are sensing a ‘critical mass’ in regards to Art, Music, and Culture in our town. I have discovered that there are many people working toward promoting a thriving Artist community in our town and I believe the time is right. We are going to make this happen.

The future is bright and it couldn’t have come at a better time.

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

