Death

Death plants light kisses
upon my brow
as I wander through
a life sodden
with winter rain.

An earthen pillow
and icy sheets
beckon through vision
blurred by sorrow
and unfound hope.

Where is thy arrow
o’ brazen imp
as I wander through
this loveless maze
of vicious tease?

Where is your promise
of love divine;
that everlasting,
unencumbered
song of pure bliss?

Was that but a lie
declared to those
of unsure purpose
to further yield
your darker aims

to those unsaved souls
who wish for life
with no true hunger
for all that comes
from love unbound?

Have I forsaken
all alliance
with humanity
to live alone
in death’s embrace?

Kiss me now Dark Prince
and take your chance
with this unsoiled soul.
That I may die
in your sweet clutch.

Else liberate me
to sing my song,
to live my life,
and leave me now
with one last kiss.

© 2013 Stephen Boothe

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

