Snake

I crawl through lives
on killing floor
to hold the beast within.

With belly down
and soft refrain,
a shield for all my sin.

Taking all that
is owed to me
and ever seeking more,

I cannot find
this thing I’ve lost
or that which I adore.

Do I deserve
this wounded fate?
Can I now find a place

to rest my bones
and save my soul;
to finally see my face?

A face unseen
to me for as long
as I have ever known.

Hidden by
this unearned guilt
that I cannot disown.

Leave me now
you vicious shroud
of imaginary sin!

I cast aside
this callous veil
and learn to shed my skin.

© 2013 Stephen Boothe

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

