Madness

I dance on the
edge of madness
as angels kiss my lips.

The song of a
forgiven love
brings tears to feed my bliss.

What once was said
to keep the heart
from everlasting pain

has now come back
to feed my soul;
a feast for all I’ve gained

from all my day’s
forgotten times
and every thought I hold.

For everything
you bring me now
has once been bought and sold.

I eat the flesh
of love and more;
it tastes so bittersweet.

I cannot bear
this black remorse
of your naive deceit.

When souls as ours
have lived so long
to hear the ringing sound

of hearts that cry
for pain’s surcease
and love that lives unbound,

it gives me life
and undimmed hope
for future love untold.

Yet everything
you bring me now
has once been bought and sold.

© 2013 Stephen Boothe

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

