Beauty

The beauty I seek lives in the past
poisoned by the taste of modern life.
A bitter stone lies upon my mind
destroying worlds before they are born.

As I walk this tortured path
toward an ever darkening plight,
no longer hearing the sweet, sweet rhyme
of you and all you had sworn,

I am consumed by death’s cruel laugh;
a once fairer man with no true sight or hunger
for all that I can no longer find.
I live in a world that lasts so long,

with hopes that I can no longer grasp
and battles that I’ve no will to fight.
A sleepless night of endless time
gives dreams now born from dust and bone.

Give me that which will not last
and I will live throughout the night
taking thoughts which do not bind
yet bring me to a place unknown

in a time never meant to have
that which I had once called right.
Would that all I now call mine
wash me up on Clotho’s coast

never to know what has passed
or what lies within my sight.
A never-ending thread of light,
delivering me another life,

and giving me leave to laugh and cry
for beauty spawned in solitude
and blinded eyes.
This is where I now belong.

This is Beauty.

© 2014 Stephen Boothe

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

