Hate

If I can kill with a word
would you accept me?

If I join the hate-filled spree
I will truly belong
won’t I?

If I partake
of the acceptable destruction
of both my own and another’s self-esteem,
will I still be whole?

Acceptance is the goal
for my hatred
and for my disdain.

We are one and we hate.

If your thoughts do not match our thoughts
we will not accept you;
we will demean you;
we will destroy you.

Though, inside, we know
that you are a part of us all.
Because ultimately,
we hate ourselves.

We feed upon our own souls
and we hunger for more.
No longer desiring the love
we all once knew.

No longer seeing
that which lifts us
but rather we dive willingly
into our own psychic demise.

Is this wise?
Maybe this is a function
of moral decay
or just another day

in life at the peak of evolution.

© 2014 Stephen Boothe

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

