Flowers and Forgiveness

For so long I struggled
on roads of despair
constructed on the backs
of manufactured woes;

my soul following along
with a cry in the night.
This is not my place!
I do not belong here!

Dragged along, hungry
for the life and the love
that comes from the journey
inside one’s true heart,

I begged for the light
of flowers and forgiveness;
sleeping for the day
that I would be free.

Who has sown this
garden of weeds,
choking out love
and poisoning life’s fruit?

Is this all I have
residing within?
Or is this just hate
spawned from indifference?

The black had imprisoned me
in its cruel embrace, saying
this is your fate
and you have been chosen

by your own inaction;
by your own denial
of that which lies
inside your true self.

I have tasted the bitter
and I’ve lived in the black
for so long, my hands
are as dark as my soul.

Yet light has found a way
to bring me back again
from that which had once
threatened to bury me.

Now I live in a place of light.
Now I feel the love
of all that surrounds me
and all that comes from inside.

This is the light;
this is the love
of flowers
and forgiveness.

© 2014 Stephen Boothe

About txyogi

Fifty plus year old Network engineer, father, grandfather, webmaster, graphic designer, guitar/bass player, yogi from Texas. View all posts by txyogi

Leave a Reply

